Blender for Game Developers

It’s been a busy couple of months for me.  Gamescom is just a couple of weeks away, and I’ve had a lot of work with my new weight training book, as well as a new pet project of mine.

I’ve been exploring the Unity engine of late, hoping that it would suit my game project.  It’s proving to be useful so far – although not without quite a learning curve!  The ability to test stuff from within the engine is a huge benefit, though, and the flexibility to use it with other engines for things such as network code is a big draw for me.

One area where I struggle, however, is 3D graphics.  I know my way around the software, but I’m not exactly an artist.  So, I jumped at the chance to review two new books by Packt – the Blender 2.5 Character Animation Cookbook by Virgilio Vasconcelos, and Blender 2.5 HOTSHOT by John E Herreno.

The first of the two books focuses on characters, and giving them life – rather than having them look like plastic models or rag-dolls.  The second covers a broader range of projects, and explains how to approach them in a systematic manner.  This is definitely a weakness of mine – I tend to approach my models from the angle of “OK, well what would look good?”, and that sort of haphazard methodology doesn’t work very well for anything fancier than a table or a barrel!

I’m studying the books now, and I’m impressed so far.  Expect a full review soon.

Leave a Reply

