Testing Citadel server

I’ve had a VPS for a couple of months now, and I hate to admit it, but I’ve only moved over three of my domains.  My main business domain is still on a shared hosting account, because I want to make sure that the VPS is running smoothly, and can cope with the bandwidth and load demands that the business domain will create.

One of the last things I wanted to set up was a good groupware server.  After a little research, I decided to try out Citadel.

The VPS was originally running Ubuntu 6.06, which is LTS, so is still getting security updates, but is otherwise pretty out of date, and I ended up in dependency hell trying to install Citadel.  I upgraded to Intrepid.   To Ubuntu’s credit, the upgrade was fast and easy.  Citadel installed, but wouldn’t start as a service.

After a few support requests on the Citadel and Ubuntu community boards – which recieved some helpful suggestions, but in the end didn’t resolve the problem, I ended up trying Citadel in a CentOS VM.  It proved to be exactly what I was looking for.  So, I asked my host to re-image the VPS to CentOS.  That’s not a reflection on Ubuntu as a sever, just that there was something about the VPS’s configuration that Citadel didn’t like, and at such an early stage, with a deadline looming, it was easier to start from scratch with something that was known to work.

So far, CentOS is running well.  It’s taking a while to get used to where it puts all the config files, but Apache and PHP are up and running, as is an FTP server.  I still need to sort out phpMyAdmin though.

Citadel is up and running, accepting mail for two domains.  I’m liking the Jabber feature, and looking in to setting up Funambol for push email.  The only thing I need now is to find a good email client for Windows that can understand GroupDAV.

Leave a Reply

