Joomla 1.5 Customization by Daniel Chapman

Joomla 1.5 Customization - I worked as a technical reviewer on this book.

Joomla 1.5 Customization

This is just a quick plug for the book ‘Joomla 1.5 Customization‘ by Daniel Chapman, which is due out next month.  I worked as a technical reviewer on the book, and I’m looking forward to seeing the finished version!

Throughout the book, Daniel explains how to create a premium membership site.  He does a good job of taking a clean install of Joomla and turning it into a fast, attractive, and useful site.

I’ve used Joomla on several of my client’s sites, and for some online gaming clan sites.  It’s a great CMS, but one thing I’ve noticed is that when I hand over the site to my clients / guildmasters / clan leaders, they’re confused by the admin panel, and by things like ‘components’, and ‘modules’.  I’ll be recommending Joomla 1.5 Customization to my clients in the future – the focus of the book may be on building a site from scratch, but I think existing site owners will benefit from the way Daniel breaks down the CMS into nice, easy to understand chunks.

Leave a Reply

