Fake LinkedIn Profiles

As a freelancer, and the owner of a small company, I like to maintain a presence on as many different social networks as possible.  I don’t devote huge amounts of time to them all – there’s so many that I just don’t have the time!  However I do make an effort to create an account, link up with any contacts of mine that also have a presence on the site, and log in at least once a month to check for messages, and see what people are up to.

LinkedIn is one of the networks that I’m a little more active on.  The groups are useful, and answering questions is a great way to get your name out there.  Plus, it’s a little more spam-free and work focused than most of the other networks.

Every now and then, I get told that I have a new colleage at Myth Games.  Since Myth Games is a family-ran company with a full time staff of two people, and only a handful of occasional contributors (all of whom are close friends), I’m always curious to see who these supposed colleagues are.  Usually, LinkedIn has simply gotten confused, and the person they’re pointing me to works for a different company that happens to have “Myth” or “Mythical” in the name.

Today, however, I saw someone claiming to be a Journalist at Myth Games.   They had no connections, were a new profile, and had joined several gaming and journalism related groups.

I’m not entirely sure why anyone would do that.  If you’re going to fake working somewhere, why not pick somewhere big?  If they’re after some contacts, working for a comparatively small, independent site is not going to benefit them that much, and if they’re playing a practical joke, I’m not sure what they’re trying to achieve.

I’ve contacted LinkedIn to ask them to investigate the profile, hopefully they’ll close it down.

If you’re the owner of a company, have you ever encountered anyone falsely claiming to work for you on LinkedIn? If so, how did you deal with it?  Did those false claims do any damage?

6 responses to “Fake LinkedIn Profiles

  1. Pingback: LinkedIn Update – Fake Profile Removed « Lesley Harrison's Blog

  2. Luckily I’ve never had that yet (nor has Peacock Carter), but I’ve seen some quite sneaky tactics in the course of SEO research to boost site’s rankings for the name of competitors; shocking, perhaps, but I’d imagine profitable to some extent!

    It’s difficult to prevent this sort of thing happening on Linked In, I imagine (though I don’t use it at all!), but a bit of proactive work in the search engines can help protect your reputation there.

  3. hi ive someone with a fake profile for my youth charity… how did you go about contacting linked in to get yr fake profile issue resolved?

    its not v obvious in settings as far as i can see…

  4. Hi John,

    Thanks for your comment. Sorry to hear about your fake profile problem – what kind of person would pretend to be a charity? That’s pretty nasty!

    If I remember correctly, I used the Ask Customer Service form – click on Help in the top right while you’re logged in, then select the Ask Customer Service tab.

    I just gave as much information as I could think of to prove who I was. For me it was easy since my account was registered using a company email address, while the other wasn’t. Hopefully it’ll be as simple for you.

    They took a little while to respond, but they were helpful.

  5. Hello there,

    We just discovered this same issue with our company: evidently we have a new manager none of us are aware of! How did you submit the request; simply via the customer service link?

  6. lesleyharrison

    Hi Andrea.

    Thanks for your comment and sorry for such a slow response. Yes, I used the Ask Customer Service form.

    It took them a while to get back to me, but I made sure to give them plenty of information so that they could confirm everything.

    I’m not sure if you onw the company or not. If you don’t, it might be worth getting one of the managers / owners to contact LinkedIn – with bigger companies they might need to do more digging.

Leave a Reply

